A successful band provides music that is of a high standard and entertaining to an audience. The Musical Director develops the talents of his musicians. Each musician responds to the best of his or her ability in an environment that is both friendly and supportive.


CNL Brass welcomes new members that have experience in playing a brass instrument. There is no training band for beginners.


Upon registration, a member is issued with:

  • Most items of band uniform
  • An instrument, instrument case, and lyre, unless the member has his/her own instrument.

Band Fees

  • The quarterly fee is $50. The annual fee is $200.
  • The quarterly fee for a band member still attending school is $25. The annual fee is $100.

Family Discount

For families in which there are dependents, a reduction of 20% is applied to the fee for each family member.


Regular attendance is expected for both rehearsals and performances. It is recognized, however, that for various reasons, there will be occasions that a member cannot attend (eg work commitment, sickness). Notification of an absence, preferably in advance, should be given to the Musical Director.

Marching is Band activity. Members are expected to march, unless medically unfit.

Participation in Administration

The Band Committee meets on the last Thursday of the month, except December, at Ulinga Community Hall at 7.45pm.

Conditions of membership are indicated in the Band Constitution and applied as required.


There are three awards that are presented annually:

  1. Elwyn Hunt Memorial Trophy—Bandsmanship.
  2. Jim Adams Memorial Trophy—Most Improved Player.
  3. Alan Meldrum Memorial Trophy—Encouragement Award.

All awards are in memory of deceased members of the band—Elwyn Hunt (tenor horn), Jim Adams (bass), Alan Meldrum (Musical Director).

In Memorium (deceased members)

  • Robert Wilson (cornet), 22 December 1989 (killed in a motorcycle accident)
  • Elwyn Hunt (tenor horn), 19 October 1991
  • John Robson (trombone), 10 May 1995
  • Parker James Adams (bass), 5 May 1998
  • Victor Cross (bass), 31 October 2001
  • Alan Meldrum (Musical Director), 25 December 2004
  • Norman Kaiser (bass), 23 January 2008
  • Neville Holmes (cornet), 6 August 2008
  • Trevor Walker (cornet), 14 March 2010
  • Maxwell Forbes (tenor horn) Foundation Member, 11 June 2017
  • David Walker OAM (euphonium) 29 June 2020